Titles by Category

Here's news about high-definition video recordings of opera, ballet, classical music, plays, fine-art documentaries, and paintings. I call these recordings "HDVDs." In the journal below are independent (and hard-to-find critical) reports on hundreds of HDVDs. Pick the best titles for your excelsisphere.

December 2. I just posted a review of the 2016 Royal Ballet Nutcracker. We have on our Alphalist a thorough rundown and grade on each of the 10 Nutcracker Blu-rays you could order for a Christmas present!

I just updated and added screenshots to the Priory title The Grand Organ of Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral. Finally we have reported on all 5 of the Priory organ Blu-rays. These exemplary recordings include a Blu-ray video, a DVD video, and a CD! Each of these titles has a fine program of organ music played by virtuoso musicians. In addition, there are fabulous bonus extras with information about the cathedrals, the towns where they are located, the details of each organ instrument, and a discussion of each selection that is played in the recital. Never before was so much value in recordings conveyed for such a modest price.  To see information on all these Priory titles, just go to the left navigation bar and click on "Priory" under "Titles by Publisher." Then all 5 Priory stories will be instantly produced for your enjoyment! _______________________________________________________________________________

Entries in Virgin (1)


Philippe Jaroussky: La voix des rêves

Philippe Jaroussky: La voix des rêves (The voice of dreams) recital disc. This is a compilation of various arias and songs from Phillippe Jaroussky, a leading countertenor. The program is:

1. Vivaldi Giustino "Vedrò con mio diletto"

2. Vivaldi Orlando finto pazzo "Se in ogni guardo"

3. Vivaldi Orlando furioso "Sol da te"

4. Handel Rinaldo "Venti, turbini"

5. Handel Giulio Cesare in Egitto "Son nata a lagrimar"

6. Purcell Come, ye Sons of Art "Sound the trumpet"

7. Handel Alcina "Mi lusinga il dolca affetto"

8. Vivaldi Ercole sul Termodonte "Sento con qual diletto"

9. Handel Alcina "Verdi prati"

10. Handel Ariodante "Scherza, infida"

11. Monteverdi L'incoronazione di Poppea "Pur ti miro"

12. Monteverdi L'incoronazione di Poppea "Adagiati, Poppea"

13. Strozzi "L'Eraclito amoroso"

14.Vivaldi Orlando furioso "Nel profondo cieco mondo"

15. Vivaldi Nisi dominus "Cum dederit dilectis suis somnum"

16. Handel Aminta e Fillide "Se vago rio"

17. Handel Rodelinda "Lo t'abbraccio"

18. Handel Polifemo "Alto Giove"

19. Caldara  L'Olimpiade "Lo seguitai felice"

20. Rossi L'Orfeo "Lasciate Averno"

21. Anon. "Ciaccona di Paradiso e dell'Inferno"

22. Monteverdi "Ohimè ch'io cado"

23. Piazzolla "Los pájaros perdidos"

24. Hahn "À Chloris"

25. Lekev "Sur une tombe"

26. Linda/Salvador "Le lion est mort ce soir"

27. Handel Rinaldo "Lascia ch'io pianga"

28. Massanet "Élégie"

29. Shostakovich Prelude for two violins and piano

30. Monteverdi L'incoronazione di Poppea "Sento un certo non so che"

31. Cavalli Erismena "Uscitemi dal cor, lacrime amare"

32. Strozzi "Sul Rodano severo"

33. Sances "Lagrimosa beltà"

Other individuals and groups that appear in this title are Anne Sofie Von Otter, Nuria Rial, Marie-Nicole Lemieux, Pascal Bertin, Jérôme Ducros (piano), Renaud Capuçon (violin), Gautier Capuçon (cello), Quatuor Ebène, Le Concert d'Astrée with Emmanuelle Haïm, Ensemble Matheus with Jean-Christophe Spinosi, L'Arpeggiata with Christina Pluhar, Ensamble Artaserse, Ensamble La Fenice with Jean Tubéry, and Concerto Köln. The Bonus includes interviews with Jaroussky, Jean-Christophe Spinosi, Emmanuelle Haïm, Christina Pluhar, Marie-Nicole Lemieux, Jérôme Ducros, Renaud Capuçon, Gautier Capuçon, and Quatuor Ebène.

The music runs 161 minutes + a 30 minute bonus. Gordon Smith watched this and reports that you get your money's worth for sure (and maybe more than you wanted). We have quite a few performances in HDVD of early operas, and these usually have contertenor parts, often originally written for castrati. Most of the countertenors sound strained to me. But even I enjoyed the singing of Jaroussky with Cecilia Bartoli in her Mission recording. Per Gordon, a couple of tracks in La voix des rêves are in SD, but this is a generous true HDVD. Based on Gordon's comments, I'll grade this "A-" and hasten to say that if you are really interested in countertenors, this is an "A+" (and maybe the definitive) recording.  

Released 2012, disc has 5.0 dts-HD Master Audio sound.  Grade: A-.