2015 New Year's Concert


2015 New Year's Concert a/k/a Silversterkonzert by the Berliner Philharmoniker (Berlin Philharmonic) conducted by Sir Simon Rattle at the Berlin Philharmonie. Features Anne-Sophie Mutter on violin. Here is the program:

  1. Chabrier - Overture to L'Étoile
  2. Saint-Saëns - Introduction et Rondo capriccioso for violin and orchestra
  3. Massenet - Pieces for orchestra from Le Cid (Suite)
  4. Ravel - Tzigane; La Valse
  5. Poulenc - Les Biches, Ballet Suite
  6. Brahms - Hungarian Dance No. 1

Released 2015, the disc has 5.1 dts sound. Grade: NA

This was reviewed by Jeremy Ncholas in the June 2016 Gramophone at pages 42-43. He notes the "striking figure of Anne-Sophie Muttor, the ultimate in sophistication (and allegedly the world's highest paid soloist.)" But he notes that the pieces selected are a little obscure and unusual for this kind of gala concert. He warns, "There is not a single word [in the package] about any of the music or the composers or the artists, so anyone coming to it all for the first time will be left often in the dark. Pity --- it's just the kind of programme that might get a newcomer to classical music hooked."