A Gershwin Night


A Gershwin Night concert. Performed 2003 as the annual summer concert by the Berliner Philharmoniker at the Berlin Waldbühne. Seiji Ozawa conducts. Features the Marcus Roberts Trio (Marcus Roberts, Piano; Roland Guerin, Bass; Jason Maralis, Drums). The program is as follows:

  1. Gershwin An American in Paris
  2. Gershwin Rhapsodie in Blue
  3. Gershwin Concerto in F
  4. Gershwin Strike Up the Band
  5. Gershwin I Got Rhythm
  6. Roberts Cole After Midnight
  7. Lincke Berliner Luft

Directed for TV by Andreas Morell; produced by Paul Smaczny. Released 2015; disc has dts-HD Audio sound. Grade: NA

This rascal is 12 years old, and the art work on the keepcase is faded. Be prepared for possible obsolete PQ, SQ, and DVDitis. Still, some recordings made in 2003 and earlier were good enough to take advantage of HDVD level specs. Also, Andreas Morell and Paul Smaczny are two of the best in our business. So I decided to devote a story to this. More of these summer concerts are featured in the Berlin Phil Waldbühne Box Set.