Czech Night


The Berliner Philharmoniker Czech Night concert has the following pieces:

  1. Smetana: "Vltava" from Má Vlast ("River Moldau" from My Country)
  2. Dvořák Violin Concerto in A minor
  3. Dvořák Symphony No. 6
  4. Dvořák "Slavonic Dance No.8"
  5. Paul Lincke "Berliner Luft"

Since 1983, the Berliner Philharmoniker has each year given a summer concert at the Waldbühne (Forest Stage) located in a popular Berlin park. The crowd dresses informally, but the musical fare is more formal than a pops concert. In 2016, the guest conductor was Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the violin concerto was performed by Lisa Batiashvili. Directed for TV by Henning Kasten. Released 2016, disc has 5.0 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Grade: NA

Here is a clip from this disc: