Legends of the Rhine


The Berliner Philharmoniker Legends of the Rhine concert has the following pieces:

  1. Schumann Symphony No. 3
  2. Wagner "Einzug der Götter in Walhall" (from Das Rheingold)
  3. Wagner "Siegfrieds Rheinfahrt (from Götterdammerung)
  4. Wagner "Funeral March" (from Götterdammerung)
  5. Wagner "Waldweben" (from Siegfried)
  6. Wagner "Walkürenritt" (from Die Walküre)
  7. Wagner "Isoldes Liebestod" (from Triston und Isolde)
  8. Wagner "Prelude 3 Act" (from Lohengrin)

Since 1983, the Berliner Philharmoniker has each year given a summer concert at the Waldbühne (Forest Stage) located in a popular Berlin park. The crowd dresses informally, but the musical fare is more formal than a pops concert. In 2017, the guest conductor was Gustavo Dudamel. Released 2017, disc has 5.0 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Grade: NA

Here is a clip from this disc: