Sommernachts Konzert 2013

Sommernachtkonzert 2013 (2013 Summer Night Concert ). On May 30, 2013 Lorin Maazel conducted the Wiener Philharmoniker in the annual Summer Night Concert. Features tenor Michael SchadeThe traditional venue for this is the Baroque Park at the Schönbrunn palace in Vienna. The program in 2013 celebrated the bicentenaries of Verdi and Wagner. Directed for TV by Michael Beyer. Released 2013, disc has 5.0 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Grade: Help!

If I could only make one more European palace visit, I would go back to Schönbrunn. It's the most interesting and best managed of the royal estates I've seen. The park grounds are delightful, so there could hardly be a more beautiful outdoor venue than this. For more information on the Summer Night Concerts, see our story Sommernachtkonzert 2015 with screenshots.

Here's the program:

1. Verdi "Triumphal March" from Aida

2. Wagner Prelude to Act 1 from Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg

3. Verdi "La mia letizia infondere" from I Lombardi  - solo Michael Schade

4. Verdi Ballet Music from Act III of Otello

5. Wagner Prelude to Act I of Tristan und Isolde

6. Verdi Overture to Luisa Miller

7. Wagner "In fernem Land, unnahbar euren Schritten" from Lohengrin -   solo Michael Schade

8. Verdi Overture to La Forza del Destino

9. Wagner "Ride of the Valkyries" from Die Walküre

10. Strauss II "Vienna Blood" waltz

11. Strauss II "Long Live the Magyar" polka

Please help us by writing a mini-review about this title.