Sommernachts Konzert 2014

Sommernachts Konzert 2014 (2014 Summer Night Concert). On May 29, 2014 Christoph Eschenbach conducted the Wiener Philharmoniker in the annual Summer Night Concert. Features Lang Lang on piano. The traditional venue for this is the Baroque Park at the Schönbrunn palace in Vienna.  Directed for TV by Henning Kasten.  Released 2014, has 5.0 dts-HD Master Audio sound.  Grade: Help!

If I could only make one more European palace visit, I would go back to Schönbrunn. It's the most interesting and best managed of the royal estates I've seen. The park grounds are delightful, so there could hardly be a more beautiful outdoor venue than this. For more information on the Summer Night Concerts, see our story Sommernachtkonzert 2015 with screenshots.

Here's the program:

1. Berlioz Le carnaval romain Ouvertüre caractéristique

2. Liszt Mazeppa (Tone Poem No. 6)

3. Richard Strauss Burleske for Piano and Orchestra in D minor     Lang Lang

4. Mozart Piano Sonata No. 11, Rondo "Alla Turca" or the "Turkish March"   Lang Lang encore

5. Berlioz Overture to Benvenuto Cellini

6. Richard Strauss Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks

7. J. Strauss II Wiener Blut Walzer

8. J. Strauss II Furioso-Polka

Please help us by writing a mini-review about this title.