2017 New Year's Concert a/k/a Silversterkonzert


2017 New Year's Concert a/k/a Silversterkonzert by the Berliner Philharmoniker (Berlin Philharmonic) conducted by Sir Simon Rattle at the Berlin Philharmonie. Features mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato. Here is the program:

  1. Antonín Dvořák Carnival Overture

  2. Igor Stravinsky "Pas de deux" from Apollon musagète

  3. Richard Strauss Zueignung (orch. by Robert Heger) with Joyce DiDonato

  4. Richard Strauss Wiegenlied with Joyce DiDonato

  5. Richard Strauss Müttertändelei with Joyce DiDonato

  6. Richard Strauss Morgen with Joyce DiDonato

  7. Richard Strauss Die heiligen drei Könige aus Morgenland with Joyce DiDonato

  8. Leonard Bernstein, 3 Dance Episodes from On the Town

  9. Leonard Bernstein, "Take Care of this House" from the White House Cantata with Joyce DiDonato

  10. Dmitri Shostakovich Suite from The Golden Age

Released 2018, the disc has 5.1 dts sound. Grade: NA

What a relief to get something other than waltzes and fast polkas with which to celebrate!

Here's an official trailer: