Brahms Cycle


Brahms Cycle Box Set with most of Brahms' famous symphonic works performed in three recording venues. The works are split onto three discs, each with its own keepcase booklet:

Disc One (Severance Hall, Cleveland):

  1. Academic Festival Overture

  2. Violin Concerto

  3. Symphony No. 4

Disc Two

  1. Symphony No. 1 (The Royal Albert Hall, London)

  2. Symphony No. 2 (Musikverein Golden Hall, Vienna)

  3. Symphony No. 3 (Musikverein Golden Hall, Vienna)

Disc Three (Severance Hall, Cleveland):

  1. Variations on a Theme by Haydn (Choral St. Antoni)

  2. Piano Concerto No. 1

  3. Tragic Overture

  4. Piano Concerto No. 2

Franz Welser-Möst conducts the Cleveland Orchestra. Yefim Bronfman plays the piano and Julia Fischer is the violin soloist. All the music was recorded in 2014 and 2015. There is a bonus with Franz Welser-Möst and Julia Fischer discussing the Violin Concerto.  Released 2015, disc has 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio sound. We don't grade the box. See links below to to the 3 individual titles for grades on the major works, which range from A to D+!

Recently we have seen a trend of publishers packaging 3 or more previously independently-released discs into box sets (Opus Arte has been a leader in this). Here we have the opposite: In 2015, Belvedere published this Brahms Cycle box set; in 2017-2018, Belvedere published each of the 3 individually. So for complete information, follow the links below:

Disc 1, with the Violin Concerto and Symphony No. 4

Disc 2, with Symphonies 1-3

Disc 3, with Piano Concertos No. 1 and No. 2