Dolce Vita


Dolce Vita concert. Jonas Kaufmann performs songs in Italian. Jochen Rieder conducts the RAI National Symphony Orchestra Torino at Teatro Carignano. Released 2016, disc has 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Video is directed by Andy Sommer.  Grade: NA

The setlist is:

  1. Mattinata (Ruggero Leoncavallo)

  2. Parla più piano (Nino Rota, Gianni Boncompagni)

  3. Torna a Surriento (Ernesto de Curtis, Giambattista de Curtis)

  4. Musica proibita (Stanislao Gastaldon)

  5. Ti voglio tanto bene (Ernesto de Curtis, Domenico Furnò)

  6. Fenesta ca lucive (Guillaume Louis Cottrau)

  7. Rondine al nido (Vincenzo de Crescenzo, Luigi Sica)

  8. Il canto (Romano Musumarra, Luca Barbarossa)

  9. Catari', Catari' (Core 'ngrato) (Salvatore Cardillo, Riccardo Cordiferro)

  10. Caruso (Lucio Dalla)

  11. Passione (Ernesto Tagliaferri, Nicola Valente, Libero Bovio)

  12. Voglio vivere così (Giovanni d'Anzi, Tito Manlio)

I haven't seen any review of the video version of Dolce Vita. But there is also a CD. Comments I've seen on the CD range from "too sweet", to "about perfect", to "no German can sing this stuff." There are a lot of video clips on YouTube of Kaufmann singing Italian music in concert, and it's tricky to figure out exactly what you are seeing. I think the video clip below is from sudject title. It explains why Kaufmann isn't slumming with this program and suggests to me that this would be a most charming video to enjoy.