Dvořák Symphony No. 8


2017 Europakonzert. Mariss Jansons conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker this year in its traditional "Europakonzert" on May 1 celebrating the founding of the orchestra on May Day. Normally, this event occurs in a different European city in a beautiful venue of historical significance. Performed 2017 at Paphos, Cyprus. The concert was held outdoors in front of the main Byzantine castle at Paphos, Cyprus. Features clarinetist Andreas Ottensamer. Directed for TV by Henning Kasten. Here's the program:

  • Weber, Overture to Oberon

  • Weber, Clarinet Concerto No. 1 (Andreas Ottensamer)

  • Koncz, Hungarian Fantasy on Themes by Carl Maria von Weber

  • Dvořák, Symphony No. 8

  • Brahms, Hungarian Dance No. 5

Released 2017, disc has 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio sound, with "high resolution" audio, i.e. 96kHz/24-bit sound sampling. Grade: NA