The Grand Organ of Westminster Abbey


The Grand Organ of Westminster Abbey concert. Daniel Cook plays the following selections on the grand organ of Westminster Abbey:

  • Purcell “Rondeau” from Abdelazer

  • Charles-Marie Widor “Toccata” from Organ Symphony No. 5

  • Howells Psalm-Preludes Set 1 No. 3

  • J. S. Bach Prelude & Fugue in E Flat

  • Prokofiev “Montagues And Capulets” from Romeo and Juliet

  • P. Whitlock “Dignity and Impudence” (March)

  • Parry “Eventide” from 7 Choral Preludes, Set 2

  • Walton Spitfire Prelude & Fugue

  • Hollins Concert Overture

  • Handel Variations on The Harmonious Blacksmith

  • L. Vierne Final Movement from Organ Symphony No. 6

Priory specializes in church and organ music. This package has a Blu-ray, a DVD, and a CD! Recorded and produced by Paul Crichton; filmed and edited by Richard Knight; Creative Consultant was Louise Berridge; Associate Producer was Callum Ross; Music Producer was Steven Grahl; Executive Producer was Neil Collier. Released 2018, the Blu-ray disc has 5.1 Dolby Digital sound. Grade: NA

This will be the 6th title in Priory’s magnificent “Grand Organ” series of recitals in British cathedrals. To learn more about these recordings, which are loaded with extraordinary special features, go to the left navigation bar and click on “Titles by Publisher. ” Then select “Priory.” We gave an A to all the titles in this series. We would expect subject title, made in one of the most famous churches in the world, to be the best yet from Priory!

Here is a clip from Priory: