Orsay Museum Concert


2019 Europakonzert. Daniel Harding conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker this year in its traditional “Europakonzert” on May 1 celebrating the founding of the orchestra on May Day. Normally this event occurs in a different European city in a beautiful venue of historical significance. Performed 2019 at the Orsay Museum (Musée d'Orsay) in Paris. Here’s the program:

  • Wagner “Good Friday Spell” from Parsifal

  • Wagner '“Wotan’s Farewell” and “The Magic Fire” from Die Walküre (Concert Version)

  • Wagner “Liebestod” from Tristan und Isolde

  • Berlioz “Royal Hunt” and “Storm” from Les Troyens

  • Berlios “Love Scene” from Romeo et Juliette

  • Debussy Pelléas and Mélisande Concert Suite (Suite by Claudio Abbado, based on the Orchestral Suite arranged by Erich Leinsdorf)

  • Debussy Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune

Features Bryn Terfel (Bass). Directed for TV by Henning Kasten. Released in 2019, disc has 5.0 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Grade: NA

Here’s a clip from EuroArts: