Prokofiev Complete Symphonies and Concertos


Prokofiev Complete Symphonies and Concertos box set. Valery Gergiev conducts the Orchestra and Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre (Principal Chorus Master Andrei Petrenko) at the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow and the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg, April 2016. Features soloists Denis Kozhukhin (Piano), Denis Matsuev (Piano), Leonidas Kavakos (Violin), Daniil Trifonov (Piano), Igor Morozov (Tenor), Sergei Redkin (Piano), Vadym Kholodenko (Piano), Kristóf Baráti (Violin), Olga Borodina (Mezzo-soprano), Yulia Matochkina (Mezzo-soprano), Mikhail Petrenko (Bass), Alexei Petrenko (Narrator), and Alexander Ramm (Cello). The symphonic and choral works included in this box set are spread over three Blu-ray discs. Also included is a fourth Blu-ray with a 90-minute documentary, Prokofiev: On the Way, by Anna Matison featuring Valery Gergiev and Konstantin Khabensky as Sergei Prokofiev. Released 2018, discs have 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Grade: NA

For the 125th anniversary of Prokofiev’s birth, Valery Gergiev and the Orchestra and Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre performed four separate concerts over the course of two days in Moscow and St. Petersburg. These four concerts covered every symphony and concerto written by Prokofiev, as well as several cantatas, an oratorio, and a suite. The complete program, presented chronologically as written, is as follows:

  • Piano Concerto No. 1 with Denis Kozhukhin.

  • Piano Concerto No. 2 with Denis Matsuev.

  • Scythian Suite “Ala & Lolly.”

  • Symphony No. 1 “Classical.”

  • Violin Concerto No. 1 with Leonidas Kavakos.

  • Piano Concerto No. 3 with Daniil Trifonov.

  • Cantata “Seven, They are Seven” with Igor Morozov (Tenor).

  • Symphony No. 2.

  • Symphony No. 3.

  • Symphony No. 4.

  • Piano Concerto No. 4 with Sergei Redkin.

  • Piano Concerto No. 5 with Vadym Kholodenko.

  • Violin Concerto No. 2 with Kristóf Baráti.

  • Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the October Revolution.

  • Cantata “Alexander Nevsky” with Olga Borodina (Mezzo-soprano).

  • Oratorio “Ivan the Terrible” with Yulia Matochkina (Mezzo-soprano), Mikhail Petrenko (Bass), and Alexei Petrenko (Narrator).

  • Symphony No. 5.

  • Symphony No. 6.

  • Symphony-Concerto for Cello and Orchestra with Alexander Ramm.

  • Symphony No. 7.