Richard Strauss Gala

Richard Strauss Gala. Christian Thielemann conducts the Staatskapelle Dresden with sopranos Christine Goerke, Anja Harteros, and Camilla Nylund. Also features a documentary by Andreas Morell: Christian Thielemann - My Strauss. The program is as follows:

Waltz Sequences No. 1 and No. 2 (from Der Rosenkavalier)

"Allein! Weh, ganz allein" (from Elektra)

Liebesszene (from Feuersnot)

"Ah! Du wolltest mich nicht deinen Mund küssen lassen" (from Salome)

"Mein Elemer! Das hat so einen sonderbaren" (from Arabella)

Symphonic Interlude from Intermezzo

"Zweite Brautnacht!" (from Die Ägyptische Helena)

Overture (from Die schweigsame Frau)

"Ich komme, grünende Brüder" (from Daphne)

Directed for video by Michael Beyer. Released 2015, disc has 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio sound. Grade: Help!

David Patrick Sterns, writing at pages 87-88 of the July 2015 Gramophone, condemns this specialized gala to modest praise saying, "Performance-wise, the Staatskapelle Dresden . . . is ideal for Strauss, and the singers are mostly well chosen for their appointed arias."

Please help us by writing a comment that we can place here as a mini-review of this title.